2W Racing news

Jagan, Mithun, Amaranth and Aishwarya pick up wins at Round 1 of the INMRC

Round 1 of National two wheeler championship held the Kari Motor Speedway had an mixed outing for the riders.

Words by Vishnu G Haarinath and Aatish Mishra

After the summer break, riders were back in action at the Kari Motor Speedway, Coimbatore for the Round 1 of the Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2017. New classes being included in the championship, a slightly reworked track, and mixed weather conditions made for an interesting weekend.

In the National championship, it was a positive start for Aishwarya Pissay from Banglore, as she started from pole in the debut season of Girls Stock up to 165cc class. But things did not go well for the Apex Racing girl as she was pushed back by Kalyani Potekar (Speed Up Racing), who lead the eight lap race until Aishwarya fought back and took the lead in the last lap to win. Former 600cc rider Alisha Abdhullah settled for third.

The Super Stock up to 165cc category had a total entry of 58 riders making it to the heats, but only 40 made it to the grid. It was RACR’s Anup Kumar M who topped the list ahead of Amala Jerald (Honda Ten10 Racing) and Sri Rahil Pillarishetty (Sparks Racing) but post scrutiny Anup was found running an illegal machine for which he was later disqualified eventually handing over the victory to Amala Jerald the only Honda rider on the grid.

In the Pro Stock up to 165cc, the Honda Ten10 racing lad Mithun Kumar PK won both the races ahead of Soorya PM (Honda Ten10 Racing)  and Yashas RL (Rockers Racing) in Race 1. In Race 2 it was B. Aravind (Honda Ten10 Racing) and privateer Aravind Ganesh who shared the podium honours.

The Super Sport category which sports bikes up to 165cc had the reigning champion Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) leading the pack, but bad luck plagued him as he was forced to quit the race due to an electrical fault hence handing over the win to the young Rajiv Sethu (Ten10 Racing) who has graduated from the Pro Stock category. Following him to the podium was fellow teammate Mathana Kumar and veteran racer Harry Sylvester (TVS Racing). Post preparing his bike back to proper working condition in race 2, Jagan topped the podium ahead of Mathana and KY Ahmed of TVS Racing.

Compared to last year, the second season of Super Sport 300-400cc championship had a good line up of bikes on the grid, with Amaranth Menon (Gusto Racing) dominating the group, winning both races. In Race 1, it was Arun MuthuKrishnan (Gusto racing) and Rockers racing’s Vivek Pillai and in Race 2 it was Kishoar VS (Apex Racing Academy) and Anthony Peter (Kingdom Motorsports) who finished second and third respectively.

With still four more rounds to go to build championship points riders still have a vital chance to lead the championship. Stay tuned for more race updates.

TVS One Make races

Peddu Sri Harsha and Shankar Guru A claimed the top two spots on the podium in both races of the Novice class on the RTR 200. Meanwhile, Anup Kumar S finished third in race 1 while Alexander A S did so in race 2.

Yashas R L won the opening race if the Apache RTR 200 Open class, while Prabhu V finished second and Yuvaraj S finished third. In race 2, Yashas could finish no better than sixth, allowing Sivanesan S the victory with Prabhu in second and Kamran Dubash in third. In the ladies race, Aishwarya won from second place Soundari A by over 23 seconds, with Kokila Shiva Shankar coming in third.

Honda One Make races

In Race 1 of the CBR 150 novice class, Satya Narayana placed first, with Bharath BS and Syed Nawas N in third. Satya managed to score a win on race 2 as well, with Amala Jerald in second and Aditya Rao Immaneni in third. Rajiv S scored a win  in the CBR 250 open class, with Amit Richard Topno in second and Anish D Shetty in third. In the Honda girl’s race, Ryhana Bee A won followed by Shruthi N in second and Kalyani Potekar in third.

About the author

Aatish Mishra

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Login via any of these platforms to post your comment.